Register on the forum now to remove ALL ads + popups + get access to tons of hidden content for members only!
vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum
vintage erotica forum

Go Back   Vintage Erotica Forums > Information & Help Forum > Help Section > Tutorials

Follow Vintage Erotica Forum on Twitter
Best Porn Sites Meet Our Girls Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices
Tutorials Step by step Guides and How to's with screengrabs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2010, 06:19 PM   #1
hos
no remorse.
 
hos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: relocated to lurkerland.
Posts: 8,990
Thanks: 28,010
Thanked 68,524 Times in 8,193 Posts
hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+hos 350000+
Default

Quick guide into [TABLE][/TABLE]

most important and always keep in mind if you want to use this function:

the very first row of your table must start next to the opening [table] - code and not in a new line. if there are no cells directly after [table], the table will not be parsed correctly.

table structure example

column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3  
example code:
Quote:
[TABLE]column 1 | column 2 |column 3 | column 4 | column 5
cell 1 of row 2 | |cell 3 of row 2 | | cell 5 of row 2
| cell 2 of row 3 | | cell 4 of row 3 [/TABLE]
adding cells & rows

you can add as many cells as you want, by using the pipe-symbol | for further cells in the same row. you are in the same row unless you don't press [ENTER] on your keyboard. the cells in the very first row sets the maximum amount of columns. the following rows will all have the same amount of columns as defined with the first row, no matter if you add more or less cells than in the first row. less columns will add empty cells to the table, overlapping columns won't be parsed.


linebreaks in cells

as described, each usage of [ENTER] on your keyboard creates a new table row if the cursor is inside the table segment, which is disappointing but the actual table function works this way. I'd rather like to see the addition of inside-tags like [ROW] and [CELL] instead of just the main tag which parses everything what's inside of it. so, if you want to have linebreaks inside a table cell without starting a new row, you have to use {br} instead (case sensitive!). you have to modify each linebreak which leads to an unwanted new row manually and also you have to take in account that other cells will center its contents vertically if its content-height is smaller.


nice layout example

having thumbnails next to each other and adding text below each thumbnail. thumb and text are in the same cell:


Jenny @Suze

Dionna @Suze

Brianna Knight


here's the code:
Quote:
[TABLE][URL=http://img280.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=49095_JennySuzeRandall_123_253lo.jpg][IMG]http://img280.imagevenue.com/loc253/th_49095_JennySuzeRandall_123_253lo.jpg[/IMG][/URL] {br} [URL="http://www.vintage-erotica-forum.com/t126116-unfolded-mystery-jenny-suzer.html"][COLOR="Blue"]Jenny @Suze [/COLOR][/URL] | [URL=http://img240.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=49096_DionnaSuzeRandall_123_98lo.jpg][IMG]http://img240.imagevenue.com/loc98/th_49096_DionnaSuzeRandall_123_98lo.jpg[/IMG][/URL] {br} [URL="http://www.vintage-erotica-forum.com/t126119-unfolded-mystery-dionna-suzer.html"][COLOR="Blue"]Dionna @Suze [/COLOR][/URL] | [URL=http://img148.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=49098_BriannaKnight_123_220lo.jpg][IMG]http://img148.imagevenue.com/loc220/th_49098_BriannaKnight_123_220lo.jpg[/IMG][/URL] {br} [URL="http://www.vintage-erotica-forum.com/t126123-unfolded-mystery-brianna-knight.html"][COLOR="Blue"]Brianna Knight[/COLOR][/URL][/TABLE]
note: 2 of these 3 references are dead (for non-moderators), but this shouldn't matter here cause it's just an example.



more?

the new function offers some more options (like sorting, connecting cells, table header and some more) which aren't described with this quick guide yet. if you want to self-exercise, visit this post:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...70&postcount=2

(note: forget about the css-option - we will not install any css you like to add)


if you want to try the function, i recommend to copy&paste one of the code examples into a post and play with it... ...in the test chamber.

Last edited by hos; 02-03-2014 at 05:21 PM.. Reason: helping tool removed - website is down
hos is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-13-2015, 05:40 PM   #2
MrInBetween
R.I.P.
 
MrInBetween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gone But Not Forgotten
Posts: 3,901
Thanks: 51,370
Thanked 42,283 Times in 3,890 Posts
MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+
Default Further options explored

Quote:
Originally Posted by hos View Post
more?

the new function offers some more options (like sorting, connecting cells, table header and some more) which aren't described with this quick guide yet. if you want to self-exercise, visit this post:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...70&postcount=2
Thought I'd try some of those things in that link, and post the results. I've used hos's first example table, adding an extra line to it:

column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 
cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4


Merging Cells

Table options, unlike BBCode, are always in lower case. There's one that differs from the others in that it's placed at the start of a cell: '{colsp=2}' (or whatever value) causes that many cells to merge together. The effect only applies on that row and all the following cells are moved up, in this case causing the last one to be lost:
Quote:
[TABLE] column 1 | column 2 | column 3 | column 4 | column 5
{colsp=2}cell 1 of row 2 | | cell 3 of row 2 | | cell 5 of row 2
| cell 2 of row 3 | | cell 4 of row 3
cell 1 of row 4 | | cell 3 of row 4 | | cell 5 of row 4[/TABLE]
column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2
  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 
cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4


Column Headings

All the remaining options are added in the TABLE tag itself. The option 'head' gives the first line a distinctive look:
Quote:
[TABLE=head] column 1 | column 2 | column 3...
column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 
cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4


Specifying Table Width

Usually a table is the cumulative width of each column but it can be made to span the posting area by adding the option 'width=100%'. Additional options are added using a semicolon - looks peculiar because the first equals sign starts the list of options, the second one is part of an option:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;width=100%]
column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 
cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4

Smaller percentages can be used, but the table can never be made narrower than is necessary to hold all its contents:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;width=10%]
column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 
cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4

Comes out more like 33%. The width can also be expressed in pixels or em-spaces:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;width=500px]
Quote:
[TABLE=head;width=40em]
Although percentages greater than 100% won't make the table wider than the posting area, larger tables can be achieved by increasing the width of the posting area itself, for example with a long line of dashes.


Auto-numbering

The 'autonum=1' option inserts a column at the front of the table and automatically fills it with sequential numbers:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;autonum=1]
  column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
1cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
2  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 
3cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4

The numbers go up to 500, which is the maximum number of rows possible. Lower-case letters can be used instead:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;autonum=a (or just autonum)]
Letters run from a-z, then aa-sf. Uppercase letters can also be specified:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;autonum=A]
The numbering begins on the second row because the 'head' option was used. The first cell of all is left blank, but the 'autonumtitle' option can specify a heading:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;autonum=1;autonumtitle=count]
count column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
1cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
2  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 
3cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4


Sorting

The 'sort' option sorts the table by the specified column. The 'head' option once again prevents the first row being affected:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;sort=1]
column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 
cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4

The sort order can be reversed with the addition of 'd' for descending:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;sort=1d]
column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4
cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 

If 'autonum' is also used, the sort ignores it, so column 1 is still column 1 and the auto-numbers are applied afterwards rather than being sorted:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;sort=1d;autonum=1]
  column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4 column 5
1cell 1 of row 4 cell 3 of row 4 cell 5 of row 4
2cell 1 of row 2 cell 3 of row 2 cell 5 of row 2
3  cell 2 of row 3 cell 4 of row 3 

Finally, secondary sort orders can be defined by specifying further column numbers, separated by commas:
Quote:
[TABLE=head;sort=1,4]
__________________

I'm sorry Gentlemen, that's all the lipstick around the nipple we have time for

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MrInBetween is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to MrInBetween For This Useful Post:
Old 07-14-2015, 11:20 AM   #3
BCFC_1982
Fiona Cooper Indexer
 
BCFC_1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 3,859
Thanks: 67,613
Thanked 61,395 Times in 4,086 Posts
BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+
Default

Excellent guys. Just been looking at this for my posts so very ironic that you have posted recently - top stuff:

Implemented here - any advice on improvements would be great!
http://vintage-erotica-forum.com/sho...postcount=1582

Mega Thanks for the tute!
BCFC
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Problems with my posts? Anything in the Fiona Cooper domain - esp model names - PM me!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by BCFC_1982; 07-14-2015 at 01:38 PM..
BCFC_1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to BCFC_1982 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-21-2015, 12:30 AM   #4
BCFC_1982
Fiona Cooper Indexer
 
BCFC_1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 3,859
Thanks: 67,613
Thanked 61,395 Times in 4,086 Posts
BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+BCFC_1982 250000+
Default

Thanks to joey for jogging my memory.... Hos and MrInBetween massive thanks to you both here.

I settled on something like this:
http://vintage-erotica-forum.com/sho...postcount=2929

Biggest issue was the multi model rows. If you quote my post above you can see I had to add a space and carriage return for each model otherwise it wouldn't centre the first cell on the new row. If that makes sense?

Thanks for your awesome tutorial. Somebody called my post a dogs dinner but hey can't win them all lol
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Problems with my posts? Anything in the Fiona Cooper domain - esp model names - PM me!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BCFC_1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to BCFC_1982 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-29-2015, 07:57 PM   #5
joey
Senior Member
 
joey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 199
Thanks: 10,985
Thanked 1,680 Times in 201 Posts
joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+
Default

Hi all,

thank you for this excellent tutorial, it is thanks to this and inspiration from BCFC that I have started to use tables in this forum. It is excellent for presenting a clean nice post

I have a question, is there any way to specify what size the thumbnails for pictures is show at? Or is there only one size? It would be very handy to make some smaller thumbnail in certain cases.

Thanks 'yall
joey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joey For This Useful Post:
Old 08-29-2015, 08:15 PM   #6
MrInBetween
R.I.P.
 
MrInBetween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gone But Not Forgotten
Posts: 3,901
Thanks: 51,370
Thanked 42,283 Times in 3,890 Posts
MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+MrInBetween 175000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey View Post
Hi all,

thank you for this excellent tutorial, it is thanks to this and inspiration from BCFC that I have started to use tables in this forum. It is excellent for presenting a clean nice post

I have a question, is there any way to specify what size the thumbnails for pictures is show at? Or is there only one size? It would be very handy to make some smaller thumbnail in certain cases.

Thanks 'yall
The answer to that is not really anything to do with tables, but flattery will get you everywhere; and it's been fascinating seeing what you and BCFC_1982 have produced, so:

If you're using the default PimpAndHost uploader, which you seem to be, no. If you want flexibility over thumbnail sizes, you need to use another imagehost, such as ImageBam - just follow palo5's succinct instructions here, but select one of the sizes smaller than 180 pixels, obviously.
__________________

I'm sorry Gentlemen, that's all the lipstick around the nipple we have time for

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MrInBetween is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MrInBetween For This Useful Post:
Old 08-29-2015, 09:10 PM   #7
joey
Senior Member
 
joey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 199
Thanks: 10,985
Thanked 1,680 Times in 201 Posts
joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+joey 5000+
Default Thank you

Thank you for your reply, MrInBetween!

Will certainly have a look-see on this, I am very curious if it will turn out the way I plan.

If so, I have lots of ideas on how to use it

Thanks, again!
joey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joey For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:15 PM.






vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.1 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.