Register on the forum now to remove ALL ads + popups + get access to tons of hidden content for members only!
vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum
vintage erotica forum

Go Back   Vintage Erotica Forums > Information & Help Forum > Help Section

Follow Vintage Erotica Forum on Twitter
Best Porn Sites Meet Our Girls Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices
Help Section If you have technical problems or questions then post or look for answers here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2018, 03:51 AM   #1
Ace1965
Vintage Member
 
Ace1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 758
Thanks: 45,007
Thanked 7,436 Times in 768 Posts
Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+
Default Replacing an old hard drive

All of my images are stored on a Lacie hard drive that's about 10 years old now. It's a 1TB drive that's about 8 inches long with a metal case, has to be plugged into an outlet for power, has an on and off switch, that's how old it is.

For the last couple of months it's been getting very slow and acting unpredictably. Most of my images are divided into their own folders. Whenever I see an image I want to save, sometimes the drive will take a long time to find folders, or similar labeled images. It will say "computing" and the light will blink while it's trying to find things.

I'm getting a little scared of it that it might just lock up one day and I'll lose everything. I have used WD Passport drives for videos for a few years now and had no problems with any of them. I've bought a 2TB WD Passport thinking of moving my images over to it. But I've never tried to transfer this kind of volume before especially this many individual images. I'm sure most people here have done this before. Is there any risk of losing images in the transfer.
__________________
Shaved pussy is boring.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ace1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Ace1965 For This Useful Post:


Old 04-08-2018, 05:15 AM   #2
General Halsey
Vintage Member
 
General Halsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 1,336
Thanked 45,392 Times in 2,074 Posts
General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+
Default

Use file manager like total commander and just let it copy and check the option verify to make sure that te copied file is the same as the original. It takes longer, but you do not have to worry about corrupted file during transfer. And that sort of thing is not uncommon.
General Halsey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to General Halsey For This Useful Post:
Old 04-08-2018, 05:32 AM   #3
pharoahegypt
Vintage Member
 
pharoahegypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Middle England
Posts: 3,823
Thanks: 8,837
Thanked 31,458 Times in 3,556 Posts
pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+pharoahegypt 100000+
Default

If you can't or don't want to do the above of course, you could also do what I do; just transfer each folder or section in chunks of say 40/50gbs each time, checking both before & after copying over by way of noting down the stated file size each time. I found it was safer to copy/paste rather than cut/paste, in case either drive has a bad moment during the file transfer.

Then once you're happy each chunk has copied fully, then delete the original, or keep the drive to one side just in case the new one throws a fit in the near future, as some have been known to do.

I can't say I'm a fan of those WD HDD's in any form though, but each to their own. (I prefer Hitachi or Toshiba HDD's for what its worth)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pharoahegypt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to pharoahegypt For This Useful Post:
Old 04-08-2018, 05:52 AM   #4
solarbear
Senior Member
 
solarbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 111
Thanks: 841
Thanked 653 Times in 104 Posts
solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+
Default

External hard drives just aren't in that realm of perfection yet. I use a thermaltake black x duet docking station with a standard 2.5 inch or 3.5 inch hard drive for backups. I do like the western digital sata (internal) hard drives, but can't be certain of the external configs. I just bought a 1 tb wd 2.5 inch for around 35 USD the other day. And one more thing, never move a spinning hard drive. Be certain the thing has spun itself out before moving it around.
__________________
Smutus Emeritus
solarbear is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to solarbear For This Useful Post:
Old 04-08-2018, 06:45 AM   #5
Rommelbommel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 268
Thanks: 103
Thanked 511 Times in 173 Posts
Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+Rommelbommel 2500+
Default

You could use a synchronization tool to copy all the files to a new harddrive.
Rommelbommel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Rommelbommel For This Useful Post:
Old 04-08-2018, 06:58 AM   #6
bowlinggreen
Vintage Member
 
bowlinggreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,360
Thanks: 24,717
Thanked 24,476 Times in 2,368 Posts
bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+bowlinggreen 100000+
Default

If your hard drive is still functioning more or less properly, there is no reason that you would lose any files during the copy process.

That said, given the age of your drive, I would copy all of that stuff to a new drive immediately, like today.

You may want to consider getting two external drives and copying all your files to both, just for the sake of redundancy and safety. Decent external drives are pretty cheap these days, you can pick up a 1TB WD external drive at Best Buy or wherever for about $50 US.

Given that you have spent dozens or hundreds of hours downloading and organizing your collection, balancing that extra $50 against the wailing and hairpulling that you will be suffering through if your backup drive goes clonk and all of your images are lost is kind of a no-brainer.

For copying, I'd recreate the folder structure on your new drive and then carefully copy over each subfolder full of images. if you are going to lose stuff because your old drive is getting touchy it ought to give you an error message when it can't copy. If you try to ghost the whole thing and it fails you won't know what you can actually recover or not.
__________________
So much porn, so little time...
bowlinggreen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to bowlinggreen For This Useful Post:
Old 04-08-2018, 08:02 AM   #7
General Halsey
Vintage Member
 
General Halsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 1,336
Thanked 45,392 Times in 2,074 Posts
General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+General Halsey 175000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pharoahegypt View Post
I can't say I'm a fan of those WD HDD's in any form though, but each to their own. (I prefer Hitachi or Toshiba HDD's for what its worth)
You know that there are only two manufaturers of HDD now: WD and Seagate.
Others are just market trademarks of the two manufatrures.
General Halsey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to General Halsey For This Useful Post:
Old 04-08-2018, 11:59 AM   #8
Estreeter
Waste Management Consultant
 
Estreeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Both Of The Garden States
Posts: 27,039
Thanks: 223,906
Thanked 432,384 Times in 27,661 Posts
Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+Estreeter 1000000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace1965 View Post
All of my images are stored on a Lacie hard drive that's about 10 years old now.
I've got 2 of those, both 2TB bought on the same day, about 4 years old now and work flawless, however Mine are Lacie Porsche Design which are Mac specific, you didn't mention what OS system you have just just in case it's a Mac, use the disk utility , select that drive and run the first aid option.
__________________



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Estreeter is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Estreeter For This Useful Post:
Old 04-08-2018, 06:50 PM   #9
Ace1965
Vintage Member
 
Ace1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 758
Thanks: 45,007
Thanked 7,436 Times in 768 Posts
Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+Ace1965 25000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estreeter View Post
I've got 2 of those, both 2TB bought on the same day, about 4 years old now and work flawless, however Mine are Lacie Porsche Design which are Mac specific, you didn't mention what OS system you have just just in case it's a Mac, use the disk utility , select that drive and run the first aid option.
Sorry about that, it's Windows 10.

I kind of like the idea of doing it in blocks just to make sure everything makes it over instead of doing a total one time transfer.
__________________
Shaved pussy is boring.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ace1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Ace1965 For This Useful Post:
Old 04-09-2018, 11:54 AM   #10
sea-man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 374
Thanks: 1,584
Thanked 1,883 Times in 321 Posts
sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+sea-man 5000+
Default

Try putting it in a sealed waterproof bag in the fridge overnight, then try to copy all the data over the next day.
sea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sea-man For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:08 PM.






vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.1 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.