Register on the forum now to remove ALL ads + popups + get access to tons of hidden content for members only!
vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum
vintage erotica forum

Go Back   Vintage Erotica Forums > Information & Help Forum > Help Section > Tutorials

Follow Vintage Erotica Forum on Twitter
Best Porn Sites Meet Our Girls Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices
Tutorials Step by step Guides and How to's with screengrabs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2010, 03:29 AM   #11
groovesection
Vintage Member
 
groovesection's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the Decks
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 5,342
Thanked 36,321 Times in 1,879 Posts
groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+groovesection 175000+
Default

To answer the question posted earlier by louiscar..

MP4 is simply a container (or wrapper as you call it)
The fact the container used is MP4 has no relevance to being able to open them in Virtualdub.
Virtualdub cannot open x264 (even in an avi container) as its a AVC codec. (ISO/IEC 14496-10 - MPEG-4 Part 10)
Virtualdub only supports VFW codecs.(Directshow compatibile) (Xvid,Divx, etc)

If you want a program simillar to virtualdub to edit x264 files (in an avi/MP4 container) then i suggest avidemux
Its free and is pretty much the same as virtualdub functionality wise
http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/
__________________
Please read the Forum
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
groovesection is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to groovesection For This Useful Post:
Old 02-26-2010, 05:57 AM   #12
kava
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 13
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
kava 0
Default

I like a free software.
They are powerful & efficient compare with other expensive software
Thanks to Denaniel for this great tutorial.

If you want to convert a multimedia files to any format, I currently use WinFF.
kava is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kava For This Useful Post:
Old 03-13-2010, 05:11 AM   #13
bigbobnobody
Vintage Member
 
bigbobnobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: not here
Posts: 2,802
Thanks: 4,355
Thanked 82,653 Times in 2,938 Posts
bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+bigbobnobody 350000+
Default

My issue with the MP4 codec is the lack of use for it outside the realm of the PC.
Several DVD players will play the DivX and xvid but spits mp4's out as fast as you
put the disc with them on it in. I just don't see the better clarity with mp4 as was
suggested and being able to put 10 hours of video on one disc and watch it on TV
thru a cheap dvd player that is DivX compatible makes much more sense at least in
my circumstance.
bigbobnobody is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bigbobnobody For This Useful Post:
Old 06-08-2010, 02:38 AM   #14
Denaniel
Returning to the Womb
 
Denaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: underneath Marilyn
Posts: 7,915
Thanks: 55,236
Thanked 215,452 Times in 7,620 Posts
Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+
Default

I updated the first two posts in this thread to reflect recent changes in MeGUI and x264. The third post is now hopelessly out of date, and I will update it when I get a chance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbobnobody View Post
My issue with the MP4 codec is the lack of use for it outside the realm of the PC.
Several DVD players will play the DivX and xvid but spits mp4's out as fast as you
put the disc with them on it in. I just don't see the better clarity with mp4...
I have one of those older DVD players that will play DivX and XviD files, but does not play mp4, so I understand what you're saying.

But many newer Blu-ray standalone players can play mp4 and mkv files, and this is why I focused this tutorial on creating mp4 files that are bluray compatible.

If you don't see the better clarity with mp4 over XviD and DivX, then either you haven't watched any high quality mp4 vids, like my recent upgrades of the Alpha France DVD's, or maybe you just need new glasses.
__________________
Note: my FileFactory links are all dead (account closed) and I am removing the dead links, so please do not report them!

Please PM me if any of my other links are dead.

Don't post your thanks, hit the "Thanks" button!



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Denaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Denaniel For This Useful Post:
Old 06-12-2010, 10:23 PM   #15
Denaniel
Returning to the Womb
 
Denaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: underneath Marilyn
Posts: 7,915
Thanks: 55,236
Thanked 215,452 Times in 7,620 Posts
Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+
Default

How to correct faulty aspect ratio

Let's say you made a mistake and encoded your vid with the wrong aspect ratio (AR), or you downloaded an .mp4 with a faulty aspect ratio, like this:

[IMG]http://i46.*******.com/dbir6x.jpg[/IMG]

This was made from a standard 4:3 PAL source, but it was encoded at 16:9 NTSC (anamorphic), so it looks squashed. The image is much wider than it should be.

Thankfully, you can correct the aspect ratio without re-encoding.

Follow the instructions in post #8 above until you get to the MP4 File Creation screen:

[IMG]http://i46.*******.com/2ltlfrs.jpg[/IMG]

Click on the .h264 file to highlight it, then click Properties

In the Properties dialog, click the Pixels Aspect Ratio dropdown box and select 4:3 PAL (or whatever the correct AR should be for your vid).

Click Ok

[IMG]http://i46.*******.com/122nrf4.jpg[/IMG]

Back on the MP4 File Creation screen, click Next

Continue with the instructions in post #8 from the first screen that reads "Running process".

Here is the same frame before and after:

[IMG]http://i46.*******.com/dbir6x.jpg[/IMG] [IMG]http://i48.*******.com/2lxdytg.jpg[/IMG]
original vid with faulty aspect ratio (AR) at left; fixed vid with corrected AR at right
__________________
Note: my FileFactory links are all dead (account closed) and I am removing the dead links, so please do not report them!

Please PM me if any of my other links are dead.

Don't post your thanks, hit the "Thanks" button!



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Denaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Denaniel For This Useful Post:
Old 06-13-2010, 12:26 AM   #16
Denaniel
Returning to the Womb
 
Denaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: underneath Marilyn
Posts: 7,915
Thanks: 55,236
Thanked 215,452 Times in 7,620 Posts
Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+Denaniel 1000000+
Default

How to encode audio to AAC

AAC = Advanced Audio Codec, and it is the preferred audio format in mp4 files

Most newer DVD's have relatively high bitrate audio in .ac3 (Dolby Digital) or .dts format. Sometimes this audio is as high as 1536 Kbps with six or seven channels.

If your source DVD has stereo (2 audio channels) in .ac3 format at 192 Kbps or less (use GSpot or MediaInfo to find out), or if you don't care about the size of your mp4, you can leave the audio unchanged and simply mux it with your x264 video. Technically, you should encode the audio to AAC to comply with the H.264 standard, but many bluray standalone players and software media players will play an mp4 file with .ac3 audio. You might want to make a clip with x264 video and .ac3 audio and test it in your player.

But if the bitrate is any higher, or you want to comply with the H.264 standard to ensure your vid plays in everything it should, or if you want to reduce the size of your mp4 as much as possible, you can encode to AAC.

MeGUI comes with two AAC encoders (enc_aacplus and faac), but to get the best quality audio, I recommend using Nero AAC Encoder, which is freeware easily found by googling, or you can try this link:

http://www.videohelp.com/download/Ne...odec-1.5.1.zip

Look for the neroAacEnc.exe file (it comes in a "win32" folder). You can put it anywhere you want and then point MeGUI to the file. You may want to create a new folder in the megui/tools folder, call it "nero aac encoder" and put the .exe file in there.

Wherever you put the .exe, you need to point MeGUI to that location.

With MeGUI open, click on the Options menu and choose Settings.

Click on the External Program Settings tab.

At the top, to the far right of neroAacEnc, click on the button with three dots (...) and navigate to the folder where you put neroAacEnc.exe.

Then click Save.

[IMG]http://i45.*******.com/66hr3b.jpg[/IMG]


Downmixing to stereo

If you have multichannel audio (up to 7 channels), and you want to convert it to two channels (stereo), or if your source is already stereo, then read this section. If you have multichannel and you want to keep all the channels, then see the section below "Encoding with multiple channels".

When you downloaded or updated MeGUI, you were given a choice of audio profiles (also called presets), one of which is called "Nero AAC: NDAAC-HE-64Kbps".

[IMG]http://i50.*******.com/bgydjl.jpg[/IMG]

Start on the MeGUI Input tab. If you can find this profile in the dropdown box under Audio/Encoder settings, then click on Config and modify it as follows. If not, then choose Nero AAC: *scratchpad* click Config and modify it like this:

[IMG]http://i46.*******.com/53232c.jpg[/IMG]

When you have tweaked the settings to match the image above, you can click on "Update" to save the new settings to the "NDAAC-HE-64Kbps" profile, or you can click on "New" and give the new preset a name of your choosing.

Just use this preset when encoding your audio, and you will get surprisingly good quality sound at about half the standard bitrate for mp3 (64 vs. 128 Kbps).


Encoding with multiple channels

If your source audio has more than two channels, you can keep all the channels and still reduce the file size by encoding in multichannel AAC.

Just choose one of the profiles that have "MultiChannel" in the name, such as "NDACC-HE-MultiChannel-HQ-192Kbps" - and modify it as above to include Apply Dynamic Range Compression and Normalize Peaks to 98. If you don't have any profiles in your Encoder settings dropdown list with "MultiChannel", then you can use the Nero AAC: *scratchpad* setting and modify it to look like this:

[IMG]http://i47.*******.com/16jkbo8.jpg[/IMG]

Note the differences from "Downmixing to stereo"

- Output Channels = Keep Original Channels
- NeroDigital AAC Options = Adaptive Bitrate @ 192 Kbit/s

When you have tweaked the settings to match the image above, you can click on "Update" to save the new settings to the "NDACC-HE-MultiChannel-HQ-192Kbps" profile, or you can click on "New" and give the new preset a name of your choosing.


Encode it!

Once you have chosen and tweaked the preset, you are ready to begin encoding.

Start again on the MeGUI Input tab. To load the audio file, click the [...] button next to "Audio Input" and navigate to your source audio (.ac3, .dts, .mp2 or .wav). Then click on "Enqueue", move over to the "Queue" tab, and click on "Start".

A Status dialog box will open, showing you the percentage of job that is completed, and when finished encoding, the dialog will close. Your new AAC audio file (with extension .mp4) should be in the same folder as the source, unless you changed the output location in Settings.

See the Yamb tutorial in post #8 above for directions on muxing video and audio.
__________________
Note: my FileFactory links are all dead (account closed) and I am removing the dead links, so please do not report them!

Please PM me if any of my other links are dead.

Don't post your thanks, hit the "Thanks" button!



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Denaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Denaniel For This Useful Post:
Old 06-20-2010, 05:04 AM   #17
thedorcel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 206
Thanks: 352
Thanked 300 Times in 110 Posts
thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+thedorcel 1000+
Default

thanks Denaniel i am going to try it
thedorcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:05 AM   #18
GailFan
Goneburgers...
 
GailFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Seas
Posts: 1,954
Thanks: 11,018
Thanked 34,772 Times in 1,909 Posts
GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+GailFan 175000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbobnobody View Post
My issue with the MP4 codec is the lack of use for it outside the realm of the PC.
Actually, my cellphone supports MP4 (LG Arena). In fact, when I bought it last year, the documentation talked about AVI as the only container format it recognised. Trouble is, I often got a DRM error message when I tried to play an AVI that I had created myself. Did a search on the net and found out that it only supports low-res AVIs and in fact MP4 is the container I should be using.

Note that MP4 is a container format not a codec.
GailFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:39 PM   #19
superuseron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
superuseron 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by louiscar View Post
As an exercise I've done this with Lingerie Intimes. Extracted to raw and muxed just one track back. It worked however I end up with a 2GB file rather than the orginal 700MB. This is odd because the .264 raw file is only 655MB and audio 30Mb.

Bitrate has gone from 1450 on the original vid to 4800 on the final so I guess it's uncompressed it in the process.

Is there something I've missed?

EDIT: LOL! Ok Yamb was having a strange moment. I tried it with both tracks and could see that once muxed I get the right size but it keeps doing it over and over again. 4 times in all. If I aborted the first file it produces is valid. I then killed it and restarted, did the first test, ie. single track and it stopped after one pass. I think something got confused somewhere. I think I may have found a possible bug but need to replicate it to be sure. The only difference is that I didn't close it after demuxing the first time around.
I had the same problem. I have found this solution : I have tried to extract all the streams to "Mp4 format" instead of "raw format". Then I have create a new MP4 file using the video track and another audio track instead of the original audio track. The result is a correct file size without other manipulation. Hope it will work for you.
superuseron is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to superuseron For This Useful Post:
Old 05-27-2011, 02:03 AM   #20
i4004
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 43
Thanked 280 Times in 37 Posts
i4004 1000+i4004 1000+i4004 1000+i4004 1000+i4004 1000+i4004 1000+i4004 1000+i4004 1000+i4004 1000+i4004 1000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovesection View Post
To answer the question posted earlier by louiscar..

MP4 is simply a container (or wrapper as you call it)
The fact the container used is MP4 has no relevance to being able to open them in Virtualdub.
Virtualdub cannot open x264 (even in an avi container) as its a AVC codec. (ISO/IEC 14496-10 - MPEG-4 Part 10)
Virtualdub only supports VFW codecs.(Directshow compatibile) (Xvid,Divx, etc)

If you want a program simillar to virtualdub to edit x264 files (in an avi/MP4 container) then i suggest avidemux
Its free and is pretty much the same as virtualdub functionality wise
http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/
to correct a thing or two here:
it's true that mp4 is a container, however, most of other statements are a bit misleading: most of the problem regarding loading mp4 to vdub was EXACTLY the container, not the codec itself. but by now (and long time ago) it should be possible to load mp4 to vdub via plugins (visit vdub forum to get latest versions etc.)

2nd, i'm using avi container to store x264, as you can see from this mediainfo details:
Quote:
Format : AVI
Format/Info : Audio Video Interleave
File size : 156 MiB
Duration : 46mn 52s
Overall bit rate : 464 Kbps
Writing library : VirtualDub build 24415/release

Video
ID : 0
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L2.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 3 frames
Codec ID : H264
Duration : 46mn 52s
Bit rate : 407 Kbps
Width : 512 pixels
Height : 384 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 4:3
Frame rate : 25.000 fps
Resolution : 24 bits
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.083
Stream size : 136 MiB (88%)
Writing library : x264 core 67 r1145bm d2e1e1c
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=3 / deblock=1:-4:-4 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=7 / psy_rd=0.0:0.0 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / chroma_qp_offset=0 / threads=2 / thread_queue=2 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / bframes=2 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / rc=crf / crf=24.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / aq=1:1.00
(notice i use "bframes"..a thing that's usually thought of as limitation of avi(it has no "native" way to put b-frames), but as you can see i'm putting them into avi just as they were used with xvid/divx)
so that's easilly possible, answer is x264vfw (that would be version of the codec that's compatible with vdub)

to end, vfw and directshow are 2 different things: both video frameworks for windows, but vfw is MUCH older than directshow.
dshow was/is usually used mainly to display video, or to feed video to encoders, it's rarely used as encoder in itself.

if somebody needs to convert x264 to xvid, try "pocket divx encoder".
i believe it uses dshow to decode any source, so anything that plays in windows players (like windows media player, or zoom player etc. with the exceptions of vlc, mpc home cinema and smiillar that pack their own decoders) should be "encodable" to xvid, and ergo playable in standalones of older kind.

(i myself hooked one pc to tv and it plays anything in existance...heh..i have no dvd-player and no intention of getting one..they don't have seek-bar to jump thru the content... )

ps/ tried megui twice, and it was rather fast to crash...yamb also wasn't really doing what i wanted it, tried many versons. i would probably use ffmpeg (even though it's command line) to do muxing/demuxing if need be.
i4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to i4004 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT. The time now is 08:51 AM.






vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.1 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.