Register on the forum now to remove ALL ads + popups + get access to tons of hidden content for members only!
vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum
vintage erotica forum

Go Back   Vintage Erotica Forums > Information & Help Forum > Help Section

Follow Vintage Erotica Forum on Twitter
Best Porn Sites Meet Our Girls Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices
Help Section If you have technical problems or questions then post or look for answers here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2017, 07:20 PM   #201
wimbo77
Veteran Member
 
wimbo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5,410
Thanks: 59,934
Thanked 72,412 Times in 5,429 Posts
wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+
Default

I've decided to use uBlock Origin in Firefox for a change. Overall it's very good and blocks nasty stuff trying to get through here on V.E.F. Tried it on other websites also and does block a lot of ads and malware. The 3rd party filter tab in the dashboard settings has to be updated when the extension has been installed.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wimbo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to wimbo77 For This Useful Post:
Old 04-25-2017, 05:32 PM   #202
old alal
Vintage Member
 
old alal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 2,251
Thanks: 11,205
Thanked 19,803 Times in 2,215 Posts
old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+old alal 50000+
Default Safe Login

I have installed an update to FF and for the first time I get a message advising that the Login for this site is not secure.

Anybody care to comment. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Old alal's First Rule Of Breasts

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
When you've seen one pair of breasts.........you want to see every pair of breasts!
old alal is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to old alal For This Useful Post:
Old 04-25-2017, 05:52 PM   #203
slimOl55
Senior Member
 
slimOl55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 548
Thanks: 15,787
Thanked 2,822 Times in 507 Posts
slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+slimOl55 10000+
Default Maybe useful

Quote:
Originally Posted by old alal View Post
I have installed an update to FF and for the first time I get a message advising that the Login for this site is not secure.

Anybody care to comment. Thanks in advance.

http://vintage-erotica-forum.com/sho...&postcount=199
slimOl55 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to slimOl55 For This Useful Post:
Old 05-23-2017, 02:39 PM   #204
electile disfunction
Vintage Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere flat, that's either hot, cold, or windy ... Canada?
Posts: 1,716
Thanks: 38,716
Thanked 15,492 Times in 1,686 Posts
electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+
Default What is it? How fix it?

It seems that many web sites now have pictures that finish loading only while that page is being viewed. (I can no longer open some pages in a tab and have them fully load while I am reading a different page on a different tab.)

3 Questions, please:

1. Is this for real?
2. What is this called?
3. How can I make pages finish loading in the background again?

e.d.
electile disfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to electile disfunction For This Useful Post:
Old 05-27-2017, 05:55 PM   #205
electile disfunction
Vintage Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere flat, that's either hot, cold, or windy ... Canada?
Posts: 1,716
Thanks: 38,716
Thanked 15,492 Times in 1,686 Posts
electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electile disfunction View Post
It seems that many web sites now have pictures that finish loading only while that page is being viewed. (I can no longer open some pages in a tab and have them fully load while I am reading a different page on a different tab.)
e.d.
Can someone just tell me if I this delayed loading is real or just an illusion, then?

(Or maybe a software conflict of some kind?)

e.d.
electile disfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to electile disfunction For This Useful Post:
Old 05-28-2017, 05:25 AM   #206
teodz1984
Member
 
teodz1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 67
Thanks: 57
Thanked 513 Times in 64 Posts
teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+teodz1984 2500+
Default

maybe a browser setting

some browsers suspend activity on the inactive tabs to conserve memory
teodz1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to teodz1984 For This Useful Post:
Old 05-28-2017, 06:30 PM   #207
wimbo77
Veteran Member
 
wimbo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5,410
Thanks: 59,934
Thanked 72,412 Times in 5,429 Posts
wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+wimbo77 350000+
Default

I like Firefox for it's useful add-ons feature but the browser keeps using too much of my memory. It goes over 1GB. Any solutions ? I'm using the latest version 53.0.3. (32bit).
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wimbo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to wimbo77 For This Useful Post:
Old 05-28-2017, 11:01 PM   #208
buttsie
Porn Archeologist
 
buttsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 9,561
Thanks: 56,778
Thanked 155,490 Times in 9,689 Posts
buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+
Default

If you cant find anything else because you cant live without extensions a , b, & c
Finding and removing conflicts in extensions/plugins a good place to start

Firefox uses too much memory (RAM) - How to fix

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...uch-memory-ram

Troubleshoot extensions, themes and hardware acceleration issues to solve common Firefox problems

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...o-fix-problems

Extension Conflict Troubleshooter for Firefox
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...t-troubleshoo/




Plenty of other browsers use the same rendering engine
but you'll be sacrificing the choice of add-ons.

“Pale Moon browser is a stripped-down version of Firefox, that leaves out certain features, to focus on speed of browsing”

http://www.thewindowsclub.com/firefo...e-moon-browser

List of 25 alternative browsers for Windows
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/list-o...rs-for-windows

How to Select a Browser
- lists browsers by type (mega, light & specialised) & rendering engine
http://www.techsupportalert.com/best...select-browser
__________________
Collection : Identified Models - Links to pics, scans, and useful sites


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
buttsie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to buttsie For This Useful Post:
Old 05-29-2017, 01:45 AM   #209
buttsie
Porn Archeologist
 
buttsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 9,561
Thanks: 56,778
Thanked 155,490 Times in 9,689 Posts
buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+buttsie 750000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teodz1984 View Post
maybe a browser setting

some browsers suspend activity on the inactive tabs to conserve memory
Depending on the browser it could be everything from

A corrupt browser profile / unwanted toolbar / malfunctioning extensions / resource hog plugins / security suite extensions are known for creating conflicts

starting in safe mode the obvious choice

Running programs like adw cleaner or the junkware removal tool might help

https://www.malwarebytes.com/adwcleaner/

Junkware Removal Tool is custom built to detect and remove over 250 junkware variants, including adware and unwanted toolbars.

https://www.malwarebytes.com/junkwareremovaltool/

Allow Firefox to load multiple tabs in the background
This applies to versions 47 and up.(not sure how up to date this is)

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...abs-background
__________________
Collection : Identified Models - Links to pics, scans, and useful sites


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
buttsie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to buttsie For This Useful Post:
Old 05-29-2017, 08:13 PM   #210
electile disfunction
Vintage Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere flat, that's either hot, cold, or windy ... Canada?
Posts: 1,716
Thanks: 38,716
Thanked 15,492 Times in 1,686 Posts
electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+electile disfunction 50000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buttsie View Post
Depending on the browser it could be ...

security suite extensions are known for creating conflicts
Thank you buttsie and teodz1984 for your insigths & ideas. They are worthwhile things to consider in any browser problem.

For me the problem seems to be a security suite issue of some kind. (I recall, now, that the problem seems to have started near the time of the recent Wanncry outbreak, so something "new" might have been added to a security module then. )

e.d.
electile disfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to electile disfunction For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:59 AM.






vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.1 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.