Register on the forum now to remove ALL ads + popups + get access to tons of hidden content for members only!
vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum
vintage erotica forum

Go Back   Vintage Erotica Forums > Information & Help Forum > Help Section > Scanning Feedback

Follow Vintage Erotica Forum on Twitter
Best Porn Sites Meet Our Girls Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2011, 04:31 PM   #81
hartwig
Veteran Member
 
hartwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 334
Thanks: 1,522
Thanked 30,824 Times in 352 Posts
hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+
Default

You create a big canvas and paste both pages as different layers.
Then select both and use "Edit /Auto Align Layers" and maybe also "Edit/Auto merge Layers".

But in order to be able to merge the layers you need to make each page overlap the other one. Means: Scan a double page and leave like 15% of the other page in the picture. Get what I mean?
If you don't do that PS will not be able to recognize how to merge the pages!

cheers,
hartwig
hartwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hartwig For This Useful Post:
Old 06-03-2011, 05:03 PM   #82
ellias
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2,901
Thanked 789 Times in 137 Posts
ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+
Default

Also, depending on how straight each page is scanned, sometimes you have to rotate one of the pages to match the other. Another problem sometimes happens that the 2 pages being scanned were printed on what are called different "signatures" in the printing world and have slight color differences between the two. That's another problem that can be corrected in Photoshop but you still have to know what you're doing.
ellias is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ellias For This Useful Post:
Old 06-03-2011, 09:17 PM   #83
hartwig
Veteran Member
 
hartwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 334
Thanks: 1,522
Thanked 30,824 Times in 352 Posts
hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+hartwig 100000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ellias View Post
Also, depending on how straight each page is scanned, sometimes you have to rotate one of the pages to match the other. Another problem sometimes happens that the 2 pages being scanned were printed on what are called different "signatures" in the printing world and have slight color differences between the two. That's another problem that can be corrected in Photoshop but you still have to know what you're doing.
This is why I don't rely on auto-color correction of the scanner or PS. I only use that if the before-mentioned "signatures" are very similar.
What I have learned only weeks ago is that color masters give the best results. I described that here.

Cheers,
hartwig
hartwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hartwig For This Useful Post:
Old 06-04-2011, 03:07 AM   #84
ellias
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2,901
Thanked 789 Times in 137 Posts
ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+
Default

Hartwig... Unless I read you wrong, you seem to imply that I'm saying everything can be corrected automatically in PS by merely clicking on the Auto color button to fix the color differences between one scanned page to the other. That's not what I'm saying. What I am saying is differences between the two can be resolved manually with a number of tools used in combination that are offered in PS.
ellias is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ellias For This Useful Post:
Old 06-04-2011, 04:17 PM   #85
stardust2003
Vintage Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 15,181
Thanked 9,617 Times in 952 Posts
stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+stardust2003 25000+
Default My Settings

I get my scanner wired up
then hit...XN View .. ( a free download on web )

I then hit
file ( top left )
then... select twain source
I hit ......... scan manager.

In future now you can just hit the scanner icon on the main
window and scan manager will come up

Hit the preview box and a nice big preview of your scan
will come up
Hit ... Advanced Settings...
a little window comes up.... ( leave it there for the time your scanning)

I set light......... -12
contrast................+40

the colour balance I leave on auto.

Go back to the main window and set............
colour document... better quality
resolution.... 300 dpi

a left click on the mouse will let you select any part of the preview picture to scan

If the pic is very dark, you can increase the light a touch.
but Ive found, these general settings usually give a good result.

The pics come in quite big say 800k or 1 meg
but the windows resizer will get them down to 100 or 150
without losing very much quality.

The scans appear on the main XN View page, you then go
to file
then save as and put your scan into documents
then delete the scan from the xn page.

Last edited by stardust2003; 06-04-2011 at 04:25 PM..
stardust2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stardust2003 For This Useful Post:
Old 12-12-2011, 05:50 AM   #86
DARPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 253
Thanks: 1,100
Thanked 3,438 Times in 234 Posts
DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+DARPA 10000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hartwig View Post
I played around some more with my scanner and photoshop and came to a simple but to me very convincing solution: Curves!! (Yes, Darth Joules was absolutely right!)

Of each the first is what my scanner produces (using no color correction at all!), the second of each is what comes out with a curves master I created (more to that later):
Ok, I've been away from this thread for a couple years (I thought I was done scanning two years ago but one of my "Holy Grails" may have just made itself available for me so I guess I'm not done after all )

I'm one of those who just can't deal with curves. I get frustrated easily with the UI. But I'll take another look after reading this thread.
DARPA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DARPA For This Useful Post:
Old 01-20-2012, 07:48 PM   #87
Darth Joules
Veteran
 
Darth Joules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,502
Thanks: 11,945
Thanked 67,236 Times in 3,157 Posts
Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+
Default Platen burn? Uh, oh...

Perhaps a little off topic as it's a technical poser, but here's something interesting. This is a problem I've just found with one of my scanners, my trusty ol' Canon CanoScan LiDE 50 which is almost exclusively used to scan smut.



Look in the upper middle area above the title between the letters "T" to the last "P" in "Photography" of the top image. Notice the funny greyish area? Same source scanned turned upside down on the platen, lower image, the mark doesn't appear. Some people's monitors might hot have the fidelitiy to see the mark.

This large greyish "smudge" always appears at the lead edge where the scanning assemble starts with every scan if the source material is dark enough for it to show up and always in the same place. I tried cleaning the platen glass with Isopropanol or other cleaning agents but they didn't remove it, it appears to be on the inside of the glass.

Now this is a LED lit scanner, and I have hammered it to death over the years, but to me it looks as if this is some sort of (heat?) burn mark and its shape roughly matches the resting postion of the scanning assembly's main body. LED scanners shut down after a scan, but has so much use really burnt an indelible mark on the inside of the glass platen? What do other seasoned scanners think?

It's probably worth popping a sheet of black card the size of the platen into your scanners to spot any platen defects/marks once every while. Especially if your scanner cannot be taken apart like my LiDE 50.
Darth Joules is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Darth Joules For This Useful Post:
Old 01-20-2012, 09:36 PM   #88
ellias
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2,901
Thanked 789 Times in 137 Posts
ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+ellias 2500+
Default

Darth... Considering the Japanese Bachelor magazines have the finest printing in the smut industry, I think your scanner is incapable of capturing the quality the naked eye can see on the printed page.
ellias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:39 PM   #89
Darth Joules
Veteran
 
Darth Joules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,502
Thanks: 11,945
Thanked 67,236 Times in 3,157 Posts
Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+Darth Joules 250000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ellias View Post
Darth... Considering the Japanese Bachelor magazines have the finest printing in the smut industry, I think your scanner is incapable of capturing the quality the naked eye can see on the printed page.
The paper stock quality is very good indeed, but they're by no means perfect. Sometimes the colour correction is totally wrong, like the Bachelor DX mag I have....way too much red caste. As for perfection when scanning? Yeah I could use my Epsom A3 scanner to scan all my smut instead of my professional work and hammer the hell out of the xenon bulb's life span, but that's why I have (had) a reasonable good run-of-the-mill LED lit (smut) scanner.

Last edited by Darth Joules; 02-22-2012 at 12:16 PM..
Darth Joules is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Darth Joules For This Useful Post:
Old 02-17-2012, 11:34 PM   #90
karenwhitefan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 8
Thanked 174 Times in 11 Posts
karenwhitefan 1000+karenwhitefan 1000+karenwhitefan 1000+karenwhitefan 1000+karenwhitefan 1000+karenwhitefan 1000+karenwhitefan 1000+karenwhitefan 1000+karenwhitefan 1000+
Default

Hello Darth

RE technical poser. It's not a problem with your scanner. It looks like a very slight kink in the top of the page which is deflecting the beam of the scanner slightly.

Try placing some card on the page and when you scan it place your hand over the area where the problem occurs. You only need to apply arm weight to the scanner lid.

I hope this helps.
karenwhitefan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to karenwhitefan For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:11 PM.






vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.1 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.