Register on the forum now to remove ALL ads + popups + get access to tons of hidden content for members only!
vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum
vintage erotica forum
Home Home
Go Back   Vintage Erotica Forums > Information & Help Forum > Help Section

Follow Vintage Erotica Forum on Twitter
Best Porn Sites Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices
Help Section If you have technical problems or questions then post or look for answers here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2018, 11:35 AM   #31
GraemeAU50
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1,149
Thanked 895 Times in 102 Posts
GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+GraemeAU50 2500+
Default

I didn't mind Windows 10 when I first upgraded my HTPC and for a good few months everything worked well

However then there was an update and suddenly I couldn't access the media servers or anything else on my network, tried a lot of different things with no success so for me I'd say watch out for what the updates do to your existing settings and network set-up

Eventually re-installed Win 7 as there was no work around for the non-detected network on W10 (even tried system restores, fresh previous version of W10, etc)
GraemeAU50 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to GraemeAU50 For This Useful Post:
Old 07-19-2018, 09:16 PM   #32
welderman
Veteran Member
 
welderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Industrial Midlands
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 35,411
Thanked 40,032 Times in 2,620 Posts
welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+
Default

Like yourself Mate, I was running W10, the more i used it, the more it annoyed me..Clogging my computer with crap i don't want..
I also went back to W7 factory settings, 3 days ago..
so far so good, lots of updates, the only thing is my browser is still using Internet Explorer 8..
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Arc welding is a given talent, performed by the chosen few..Welderman
welderman is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to welderman For This Useful Post:
Old 07-20-2018, 05:35 AM   #33
SoIGotTheGroov
Member
 
SoIGotTheGroov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 71
Thanks: 115
Thanked 376 Times in 70 Posts
SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GraemeAU50 View Post
I didn't mind Windows 10 when I first upgraded my HTPC and for a good few months everything worked well

However then there was an update and suddenly I couldn't access the media servers or anything else on my network, tried a lot of different things with no success so for me I'd say watch out for what the updates do to your existing settings and network set-up

Eventually re-installed Win 7 as there was no work around for the non-detected network on W10 (even tried system restores, fresh previous version of W10, etc)

I think I've just experienced the same issue last night with an update too. But it could have been the W7 disk too since I've reinstalled many softwares and VST plugins and had to struggle with an annoying admin rights issue with some folders:
- CPU was too much working, at 50% sometimes with nothing running !
- on W10, couldn't access the Downloads folder, couldn't download anything in it cos' it was "broken".


CheckDisk programmed at startup on both disks, et voilą. Problems solved on both OS.
SoIGotTheGroov is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to SoIGotTheGroov For This Useful Post:
Old 07-22-2018, 08:53 PM   #34
rlg118
Veteran Member
 
rlg118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Land o' Lake-Effect
Posts: 4,891
Thanks: 5,413
Thanked 89,806 Times in 4,872 Posts
rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+
Default

Chkdsk can be a wonderful thing. So can SFC (system file checker). SFC has saved my bacon more than once.

Last time I ran SFC, however, it would not fix the problem of a corrupted DLL, so I went to the heavy artillery:

Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

then

sfc /scannow

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by rlg118; 07-23-2018 at 02:29 AM..
rlg118 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to rlg118 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-02-2018, 08:36 PM   #35
welderman
Veteran Member
 
welderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Industrial Midlands
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 35,411
Thanked 40,032 Times in 2,620 Posts
welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlg118 View Post
Chkdsk can be a wonderful thing. So can SFC (system file checker). SFC has saved my bacon more than once.

Last time I ran SFC, however, it would not fix the problem of a corrupted DLL, so I went to the heavy artillery:

Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

then

sfc /scannow

I ain't got a clue what any of that means..
Just to say I tweeked every single new update out of Windows 7.
Now Windows 10 is in the recycle bin..

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Arc welding is a given talent, performed by the chosen few..Welderman
welderman is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to welderman For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2018, 12:09 AM   #36
rlg118
Veteran Member
 
rlg118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Land o' Lake-Effect
Posts: 4,891
Thanks: 5,413
Thanked 89,806 Times in 4,872 Posts
rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+rlg118 350000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by welderman View Post
I ain't got a clue what any of that means..
Just to say I tweeked every single new update out of Windows 7.
Now Windows 10 is in the recycle bin..

If you were really living in the '70s, you'd have one of these...

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rlg118 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rlg118 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2018, 09:35 PM   #37
welderman
Veteran Member
 
welderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Industrial Midlands
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 35,411
Thanked 40,032 Times in 2,620 Posts
welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+welderman 175000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlg118 View Post
If you were really living in the '70s, you'd have one of these...

Point Taken, But in the 70's I was slopping around in the mud in short trousers. not tinkering with technology that I never knew existed..

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Arc welding is a given talent, performed by the chosen few..Welderman
welderman is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to welderman For This Useful Post:
Old 08-09-2018, 07:55 AM   #38
SoIGotTheGroov
Member
 
SoIGotTheGroov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 71
Thanks: 115
Thanked 376 Times in 70 Posts
SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+SoIGotTheGroov 1000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlg118 View Post
Chkdsk can be a wonderful thing. So can SFC (system file checker). SFC has saved my bacon more than once.

Last time I ran SFC, however, it would not fix the problem of a corrupted DLL, so I went to the heavy artillery:

Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

then

sfc /scannow


BUT ! sometimes even the check and/or restore health command with DISM do not work at all and stops at a few percentage, so, consequently! won't be able to run any sfc /scannow.



I've just exeprienced that now: installed something stupid on W10 yesterday, back on W7 this morning: meh... CPU again at 40%. So scannow ? not working. DISM commands ? not working. Back on W10, full of problems, then again scannow: nein, so DISM command ? nein, stopped at 6.4% telling me some files are corrupted . Did again CHKDSK on both disks and very important: from the W10 system first, then only after that sfc /scannow: now perfect !


Now, I'm a bit puzzled cos' it's coming back from time to another: is there something wrong between motherboard and both disks ? should I plug the W10 disk on the Sata 0 and make it
boot in priority before 7's disk wich is the 1st disk to start at the moment ? or is this way too much for the motherboard to run 2 disks with a 1TB capacity each ?

Last edited by SoIGotTheGroov; 08-09-2018 at 06:30 PM..
SoIGotTheGroov is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SoIGotTheGroov For This Useful Post:
Old 08-10-2018, 05:45 AM   #39
solarbear
Senior Member
 
solarbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 133
Thanks: 2,441
Thanked 834 Times in 126 Posts
solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+
Default

You set the default boot priority in BIOS, and then you can over ride the default with a post launch of boot options, I have a gigabyte mainboard that lets user over ride the default with a boot options menu launcher upon post, , and then i have 4 hard drives attached to it, all by way of sata cables&ports and sata power plugs from the power supply to the hard drive itself. If yours is a uefi mainboard, from what i recall, you disable safe boot and enable legacy boot, then boot options will let you scroll down to legacy boot drives. Then there are the BIOS hard drive configurations, like IDE and Sata and AHCI, Newer UEFI boards use AHCI. If that setting is mismatched, then BSOD hell ensues.

Last i checked, HPs and Dells offer the boot options menu upon initial power up by way of the F numeric keys.

I remember Windows 7 had an issue with wua update process taxing the cpu hard, there is a procedure to stop it and keep the update function working, but it is such a rat race, MS keeps their rats growing faster by the day and it is somewhat of a futile effort for the average home PC user to win the update race ...although it is amusing to read about them trying..

The way i stopped it is by disabling updates in the control panel, then checking for updates manually when it was convenient. that was so long ago, but i remember doing it like that.
__________________
Smutus Emeritus

Last edited by solarbear; 08-10-2018 at 09:54 AM..
solarbear is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to solarbear For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT. The time now is 06:17 PM.






vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.1 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.