Register on the forum now to remove ALL ads + popups + get access to tons of hidden content for members only!
vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum vintage erotica forum
vintage erotica forum
Home Home
Go Back   Vintage Erotica Forums > Information & Help Forum > Help Section

Follow Vintage Erotica Forum on Twitter
Best Porn Sites Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices
Help Section If you have technical problems or questions then post or look for answers here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2018, 02:51 PM   #1471
CARLTON BROWN
Vintage Member
 
CARLTON BROWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ruraltania
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 17,157
Thanked 16,080 Times in 1,716 Posts
CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cicciobuki View Post
What kind of monitor /screen do you have?
On the Windows 10 machine, a 24" LG, although using a VGA connection as this will have to do until the next general upgrade.
CARLTON BROWN is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to CARLTON BROWN For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2018, 09:20 PM   #1472
__Wayward
Senior Member
 
__Wayward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: New London, Conn. USA
Posts: 454
Thanks: 7,442
Thanked 3,841 Times in 455 Posts
__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+__Wayward 10000+
Default

i have AOC walmart $109 24" monitor ... sometimes if the plugs are not tightly plugged in mine will black out for a second or two nothing techy sorry!
__Wayward is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to __Wayward For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2018, 09:42 PM   #1473
cicciobuki
Veteran Member
 
cicciobuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,456
Thanks: 54,654
Thanked 36,262 Times in 4,465 Posts
cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+cicciobuki 175000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CARLTON BROWN View Post
On the Windows 10 machine, a 24" LG, although using a VGA connection as this will have to do until the next general upgrade.

i read somewhere that a similar problem existed with an external TV screen, i'm not really an expert but the problem could be around there. Of course updating drivers is usually a good start...
cicciobuki is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to cicciobuki For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2018, 11:49 PM   #1474
CARLTON BROWN
Vintage Member
 
CARLTON BROWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ruraltania
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 17,157
Thanked 16,080 Times in 1,716 Posts
CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cicciobuki View Post
i read somewhere that a similar problem existed with an external TV screen, i'm not really an expert but the problem could be around there. Of course updating drivers is usually a good start...
Since posting my original message I've had the time to check the monitor, which is an LG Flatron E2350 and I've been on the LG site looking for driver updates. Unfortunately, they've produced nothing new since Windows 7. The other LG monitor I use on the older machine is okay with Win 10, but I don't want to swap them over. The annoying thing is that my new Dell machine running Win 10 and using the old screen was fine right up to the update. Now, this problem is so annoying, I think I'll probably need to buy a new HDMI monitor that works with Win 10.
CARLTON BROWN is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to CARLTON BROWN For This Useful Post:
Old 07-03-2018, 06:09 AM   #1475
pigulici
Senior Member
 
pigulici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 129
Thanks: 1,281
Thanked 627 Times in 115 Posts
pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+
Default

You need to reinstall the driver for video card, not for monitor, usually after big winodws updates.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pigulici is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to pigulici For This Useful Post:
Old 07-03-2018, 10:32 AM   #1476
Ernesto75
Vintage Member
 
Ernesto75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,031
Thanks: 9,855
Thanked 16,909 Times in 1,022 Posts
Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+Ernesto75 50000+
Default

With Windows 10 nothing is sure.
After each upgrade it is necessary to check the parameters.
The risks are greater for the audio parameters.

And after an upgrade, if nothing is wrong, that does not mean you wont
have to check the parameters again after a new startup.
Ernesto75 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Ernesto75 For This Useful Post:
Old 07-04-2018, 05:29 AM   #1477
solarbear
Senior Member
 
solarbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 138
Thanks: 3,072
Thanked 877 Times in 131 Posts
solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+solarbear 2500+
Default

The rough part is, those win10 updates are involuntary, and they wreak havoc on your proprietary drivers.

https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/take-b...es-windows-10/
__________________
Smutus Emeritus

Last edited by solarbear; 07-04-2018 at 05:37 AM.. Reason: gOOgle return
solarbear is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to solarbear For This Useful Post:
Old 07-05-2018, 04:41 PM   #1478
CARLTON BROWN
Vintage Member
 
CARLTON BROWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ruraltania
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 17,157
Thanked 16,080 Times in 1,716 Posts
CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigulici View Post
You need to reinstall the driver for video card, not for monitor, usually after big winodws updates.
You are absolutely right about this. It seems that Microsoft in their infinite wisdom did some driver upgrading and this was the problem. I had some excellent help from Dell's Customer Support and things are now back to way they should be with no more blackouts - hopefully!
CARLTON BROWN is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to CARLTON BROWN For This Useful Post:
Old 07-05-2018, 04:50 PM   #1479
pigulici
Senior Member
 
pigulici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 129
Thanks: 1,281
Thanked 627 Times in 115 Posts
pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+pigulici 2500+
Default

Well, I am glad it is ok now, you can block driver update if you want.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pigulici is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to pigulici For This Useful Post:
Old 07-05-2018, 11:45 PM   #1480
CARLTON BROWN
Vintage Member
 
CARLTON BROWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ruraltania
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 17,157
Thanked 16,080 Times in 1,716 Posts
CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+CARLTON BROWN 50000+
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigulici View Post
Well, I am glad it is ok now, you can block driver update if you want.
Taken care of that already. According to Dell, Microsoft are currently working on fixing this problem which seems to have caused quite a bit of trouble.
CARLTON BROWN is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to CARLTON BROWN For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT. The time now is 06:31 PM.






vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.1 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.